The Bachelorette Pad Flip

Teacher of Shakespeare by day & flipper of Bachelorette Pads by night…and weekend…and summer.

My Review of Graco Spray Station 2900

After the debacle in the living room, I had brand new sheetrock and texture. So I guess that is the silver lining of the ordeal. Since the room is abnormally large, I wanted to try using paint sprayer rather than rolling. I have Carple Tunnel Syndrome & rolling kills my wrist. I was hoping this was a great alternative. I purchased mine at Lowe’s (with a coupon, of course) and for a little more than $100. There were cheaper alternatives, but they weren’t ideal for large-scale, indoor projects (so said the labels). There were also more expensive options, but my budget nixed those. I also was able to read reviews of the Spray Station 2900, and, for the most part, they were pretty positive.

 Image

I was excited to get started painting, but I just couldn’t seem to find a paint color I liked. ¬†After the Graco sat idly in my living room for a while, I was finally able to find just the right color. As for the set up and prep process, it was very easy. I had the entire thing assembled and ready to go in under 10 minutes. I did a few test sprays on some cardboard to get familiar with the different settings. One initial concern was that the paint container seemed small, and I was concerned that I would constantly be refilling it. Fortunately, I was wrong. The paint went a long way, and I never had to refill the container for the entire wall that I did.

The sprayer is electric-powered. My only suggestion in that area is that the electric cord was shorter than I would have liked. Luckily, I have several outlets in that room, but if I didn’t, then it would have been annoying. To compensate, the “wind tube” (the black tube that pushes the air from the motor to the sprayer) has a very long length. The downside, however, is that it was not that flexible. My primary complaint with that tube though is that it came undone four times while I was spraying. I made sure it was securely attached to the sprayer every time, but after 20 minutes or so, it would detach again. There was no attachment to help secure it which should be added.

photo-537

My test wall was the large wall connecting the kitchen to the dining room. As far as the sprayer, it wasn’t all that heavy even with all the paint in the container. The trigger is large enough to easily hold while painting. It sprayed on like spray paint, and I was hoping that appearance would fade the more I sprayed. Unfortunately, it did not. I used the grid spray pattern that was suggested in the manual. After the entire wall dried, there were distinct spray paint lines that wouldn’t appear if you rolled the paint. While I am a novice as a spray painter, I think I am the intended audience for this product. I was left underwhelmed by the product for large-scale projects and certainly for walls.

photo-538

After a final review, I have decided I’m going to have to repaint my test wall with a roller. I think the Graco is ideal for small projects- furniture, trim, etc. I do have some small furniture pieces that I plan to spray paint, and I believe I’ll have different results. My other complaint is that it took A LOT longer to spray a wall than it would have been to roll it. I would have probably spent no more than 30 minutes rolling (trim not included). Instead, with the sprayer I spent over two hours. It’s also not ideal for edging, even on the finest setting.

FINAL VERDICT ON A 10PT. SCALE:

Price: 8

Quality of product: 7

Ease of product: 8.5

Quality of results: 5

One comment on “My Review of Graco Spray Station 2900

  1. Pingback: Front Door Makeover | The Bachelorette Pad Flip

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 25, 2013 by and tagged , , , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

